HMC Pastoral Leadership Qualification 2019-20

The Pastoral Leadership Qualification (PLQ) is designed for pastoral leaders in HMC schools e.g. Heads of Year, Heads of Section, Heads of House (Boarding and Day), Heads of Pupil Support teams etc. Whilst aspiring pastoral leaders may also take part, the training sessions and portfolio activities are primarily intended for those already in post, and HMCPD’s ‘Preparing to be a Pastoral Leader’ is likely to provide more appropriate content. Experienced colleagues who are beginning to consider deputy head positions may also find HMCPD’s ‘Preparing for Senior Leadership’ course of interest.

Please view the PLQ briefing document for more information.

To book a place, please register yourself onto both the Day 1 and Day 2 training events for your chosen cluster, and please share the new updated information for mentors with your in-school mentor:

PLQ L1

London Cluster 1

Day 1: Thursday 26 September 2019 (Novotel London City South)

Day 2: Wednesday 29 January 2020 (The Grosvenor Hotel, London)

London Cluster 2

Day 1: Thursday 7 November 2019 (The Grosvenor Hotel, London)

Day 2: 10 March 2020 (City of London School for Girls)

South Central / South West Cluster

Day 1: Thursday 3 October 2019 (Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel)

Day 2: Thursday 6 February 2020 (Queen Elizabeth’s Hospital School, Bristol)

Midlands Cluster

Day 1: Wednesday 9 October 2019 (Jurys Inn, Birmingham)

Day 2: Tuesday 11 February 2020 (Jurys Inn, Birmingham)

North Cluster

Day 1: Thursday 7 November 2019 (Queens Hotel, Leeds)

Day 2: Wednesday 4 March 2020 (Queens Hotel, Leeds)

PLQ L2 (L1 must be completed prior to L2)

London Cluster

Day 1: Thursday 10 October 2019 (The Grosvenor Hotel, London)

Day 2: Thursday 13 February 2020 (Novotel London City South)

Midlands Cluster

Day 1: Thursday 14 November 2019 (Jurys Inn, Birmingham)

Day 2: Thursday 6 February 2020 (Jurys Inn, Birmingham)

Information for Mentors

Information for mentors (updated for 2019-20) – please share this link with your mentor for information.